The Prodigal’s Rhyme

‘Twas night, I got lost.
I scrambled in the cold
of the blinding darkness;
Longing for the tiniest light
and wishing for the sun to rise
to end my pain in this demise.

‘Twas the longest night,
my youth; I squandered
with my strength and pride
and it was a reckless ride–
a flight denied–the sun and back
looming shadows of Icarus’ track.

‘Twas night. I still. I grope;
reaching for the faintest hope,
to take my soul home to salvation.
Death to life, Oh sweet redemption!
In my crooked haste, I lost some time;
morning came, and saved my rhyme.

Leave a Reply

